Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

LONDON - MAY 24: Back of Winston Churchill statue with Big Ben on Parliament square garden in London, England, was taken on May 24, 2016.

Meta Description: What are the necessary information you need to know about the prime minister of the United Kingdom? This blog will provide well-detailed information as regards the prime minister of the United Kingdom.

France’s prime minister serves as the country’s head of government and is the country’s chief executive.

Prime ministers are in charge of overseeing the operation of the government and the implementation of its policies.

Moreover, the prime minister of the United Kingdom serves as head of France’s National Assembly, which is the lower chamber of the country’s parliament.

The prime minister is also in charge of the country’s foreign policy initiatives. Their responsibilities also include economic development and social welfare. 

Prime Minister of the United Kingdom List (From 1721 till Date)

The list is provided below, ranging from 1721 to date.

  • Robert Walpole (1721– 1742)
  • Spencer Compton (1742 – 1743)
  • Henry Pelham (1743 – 1754)
  • Thomas Pelham-Holles (1754–1756; 1st time)
  • William Cavendish (1756–1757)
  • Thomas Pelham-Holles (1757–1762; 2nd time)
  • John Stuart (1762–1763)
  • George Grenville (1763–1765)
  • Charles Watson Wentworth (1765–1766; 1st time)
  • William Pitt, the Elder (1766–1768)
  • Augustus Henry Fitzroy (1768–1770)
  • Frederick North (1770–1782)
  • Charles Watson Wentworth (1782; 2nd time)
  • William Petty-Fitzmaurice (1782–1783)
  • William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1783; 1st time)
  • William Pitt, the Younger (1783–1801; 1st time)
  • Henry Addington (1801–1804)
  • William Pitt, the Younger (1804–1806; 2nd time)
  • William Wyndham Grenville (1806–07)
  • William Henry Cavendish-Bentinck (1807–1809; 2nd time)
  • Spencer Perceval (1809–1812)
  • Robert Banks Jenkinson (1812–1827)
  • George Canning (1827)
  • Frederick John Robinson (1827–1828)
  • Arthur Wellesley (1828–1830; 1st time)
  • Charles Grey (1830–1834)
  • William Lamb (1834; 1st time)
  • Arthur Wellesley (1834; 2nd time)
  • Robert Peel (1834–1835; 1st time)
  • William Lamb (1835–1841; 2nd time)
  • Robert Peel (1841–1846; 2nd time)
  • John Russell (1846–1852; 1st time)
  • Edward Geoffrey Stanley (1852; 1st time)
  • George Hamilton-Gordon (1852–1855)
  • Henry John Temple (1855–1858; 1st time)
  • Edward Geoffrey Stanley (1858–1859; 2nd time)
  • Henry John Temple (1859–1865; 2nd time)
  • John Russell (1865–1866; 2nd time)
  • Edward Geoffrey Stanley (1866–1868; 3rd time)
  • Benjamin Disraeli (1868; 1st time)
  • William Ewart Gladstone (1868–1874; 1st time)
  • Benjamin Disraeli (1874–1880; 2nd time)
  • William Ewart Gladstone (1880–1885; 2nd time)
  • Robert Cecil (1885–1886; 1st time)
  • William Ewart Gladstone (1886; 3rd time)
  • Robert Cecil (1886–1892; 2nd time)
  • William Ewart Gladstone (1892–1894; 4th time)
  • Archibald Philip Primrose (1894–1895)
  • Robert Cecil (1895–1902; 3rd time)
  • Arthur James Balfour (1902–1905)
  • Henry Campbell-Bannerman (1905–1908)
  • H.H. Asquith (1908–1916)
  • David Lloyd George (1916–1922)
  • Bonar Law (1922–1923)
  • Stanley Baldwin (1923–1924; 1st time)
  • Ramsay Macdonald (1924; 1st time)
  • Stanley Baldwin (1924–1929; 2nd time)
  • Ramsay Macdonald (1929–1935; 2nd time)
  • Stanley Baldwin (1935–1937; 3rd time)
  • Neville Chamberlain (1937–40)
  • Winston Churchill (1940–1945; 1st time)
  • Clement Attlee (1945–1951)
  • Winston Churchill (1951–1955; 2nd time)
  • Anthony Eden (1955–1957)
  • Harold Macmillan (1957–1963)
  • Alec Douglas-Home (1963–1964)
  • Harold Wilson (1964–1970; 1st time)
  • Edward Heath (1970–1974)
  • Harold Wilson (1974–1976; 2nd time)
  • James Callaghan (1976–1979)
  • Margaret Thatcher (1979–1990)
  • John Major (1990–1997)
  • Tony Blair (1997–2007)
  • Gordon Brown (2007–2010)
  • David Cameron (2010–2016 )
  • Theresa May (2016–2019)
  • Boris Johnson (2019– till date)

Who is the current Prime minister of the United Kingdom?

The current Prime Minister of the UK is Boris Johnson. Boris Johnson is currently 57 years old (June 19, 1954). 

He was made the prime minister of the United after the resignation of Theresa May in 2019. 

What are the roles of the Prime minister of the United Kingdom?

The Prime Minister is in office as the head of government of the United Kingdom, responsible for carrying out the government’s policies.

 The Prime Minister is responsible for fulfilling the political and social goals of the government. The Prime Minister is also responsible for the defense of the country and its interests abroad. 

Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

Dominic Raab currently serves as the United Kingdom’s deputy prime minister, having been chosen for the role in September 2021 by the British government.

As a result, Raab became the first Liberal Democrat leader to be nominated as deputy prime minister since Nick Clegg, who served as a junior coalition partner with Prime Minister David Cameron’s Conservatives from 2010 and 2015. 

Dominic is the first deputy prime minister to be selected since Nick Clegg took over as leader of the Liberal Democrats.

A deputy for the prime minister is not essential, and some prime leaders have refused to do so, including David Cameron during his second term and Theresa May, who is now in office.

The official deputy prime minister title is not typically used. However, many people feel that a “de-facto deputy” exists, who is sometimes appointed to the post of the first secretary to the Treasury Department.

Roles of the Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

His most important responsibilities include representing the government at Prime Minister’s Question Time and presiding over cabinet sessions when the prime minister is away.

There is no guarantee of a successor for the deputy prime minister position.

Who is the Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom?

The former prime minister of the United Kingdom is Theresa May. 

Theresa May served as the prime minister of the United Kingdom from 2016 to 2019. 

How much is the UK prime minister paid?

The Prime Minister receives two salaries: one for serving as a Member of Parliament and a second, referred to as the ‘ministerial income,’ for serving as the country’s leader.

The Prime Minister will get £81,932 for his service as a Member of Parliament in the 2020-21 fiscal year, with an extra £79,469 available for his job as Prime Minister.

Even though Boris Johnson is eligible for a sum of £161,401 in total, he was able to claim less than that amount, which is around £157,372 – throughout the 20/21 fiscal year.


Do you know that United Kingdom is one of the countries in the world that has both Prime ministers and deputy prime ministers? These ministers also perform their legal duties of improving the economic development and stability of the country just like other leaders.

Renee Stephens

Tom Hunt Politics

Previous article

Prime Minister’s Questions in the UK

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Business